Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Monterosso

    August 22, 2019 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    We pull into Monterosso station. It's packed with people trying to get to the towns.
    We carry our massive cases down the stairs and come out the front to the most amazing little italian seaside village.

    It is boiling hot. 30 degrees. Humid, so I throw my thongs on.
    The beach 🏖 is packed with people on chairs and in the water. An array of colourful umbrellas cover the pebble beach.

    You look down the coastline to the left and can easily see Vernazza and Corniglia. Actually you can see all the 4 other towns from here, Manarolo and Riomaggiore too. Amazing.

    Athena just wants to get to the hotel to put bathers on and get down there. I know I will be burn't within 10 minutes and wish to stop for a break. (it can be a bit full on being the responsible one to ensure we catch the right anything)

    We head to the little free beach on the right at the end of our street. A 3min stroll. Athena wants to sunbake. I walk straight into the water. It is devine.

    The beach is made up of a grey rounded pebble. I massage my sore feet on them. I am so happy floating here with lots of very tanned people around. Kids are jumping off rocks and on lilos. Everyone is happy.

    I cannot tell you how wonderful this place is. No advertising, no music blaring, nobody is looking at their phone. just relaxed families and couples all chatting enjoying an Italian summer holiday. All Europeans.

    Monterosso al Mare is in a protected Cove. Boats sit out in the water. I go buy a gelato from the little shop on the beach. 3 euro. Lemon. Sooo good. Creamy with a sweet tartness. I may have 2-3 a day!

    Everyone strolls here. No hurry, no pushing. Lovers are all affectionate. Children are healthy and tanned. I think I am the whitest person here. My legs certainly glowed under the water while I swam.

    I suggest to Athena that we grab dinner now before the crowds. We sit at a table along the beach. I choose scallops with ginger carrot puree and a curry powder. Also served with slightly stewed apricots. Omg delish. Athena chose octopus on polenta.

    Our boat trip is tomorrow, so we went down to the harbour. I walked down to check it out. Couldn't find them. I sent them an email confirming our attendance, however thunderstorms are predicted for the rest of the week so they may cancel yet. Today may have been our only day of sunshine ☀

    The sun is setting at 8.30pm and I watch the little pastel towns begin to glow. Truly magical. You need to come here and experience the yesteryear of this place.

    Athena is tired and wants to go back to the hotel. She has a nap at 8.00, and is still sleeping. I am wide awake at midnight enjoying the ambience outside, cooler now at 23 degrees, and chilling out as I write my blog. Will head off to bed soon. Xx
    Read more