Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Vernazza

    August 23, 2019 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    We finally get to Vernazza at
    4.20pm.

    It took us 4hrs 50mins.
    It is supposed to take 1.5hrs. (the lesson learnt is do not take Athena hiking on cliff sides)

    Vernazza is beautiful.

    We enter via a steep stepped alley into the small square. It is filled with sounds of diners, swimmers, and languages galore.

    The umbrellas are as colourful as the pastel pink buildings. Mature Italian men sit together in discussion.

    I grab a prosciutto panini and a coke.
    Athena smells the ham, and gets one too. More bread!

    The church bells ring out on the hour and half hr. A little tourist shopping and then we watch the boat disembark with the hoards.

    We go into the church and I go up to the castle.

    I thought a bourban sounds good so into a bar we pop.
    Whilst I pay, Athena suddenly goes into major panic mode rummaging through her bag. She has lost her purse.
    I look at the barman and think hurry up and hand me that drink would you!!!
    I looked on the bar and see a black wallet.
    Is this your purse?
    Yes.

    We catch the train back to Monterosso for dinner at La Cantina on the beach. For me scallopine veal in vino. Athena chose grilled prawns.

    Next to us a man had putinesco in a nut sauce, which made me drool, so I ordered that too!!!!

    On the walk to our room, we grab a limone gelato, before bed because we can 🍦
    Read more