Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Como to Belaggio

    August 26, 2019 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Walking up in Como with a view of the lake is devine. Our first hot breakfast of bacon and eggs.

    We book a hydrofoil to Bellagio.
    45 minutes at 14.00 euro.
    I spot George Clooney's villa Oleandra. His speedboat is parked out front.

    We embark at Bellagio. It is small and quaint and much quieter than Como.

    Lunch is at a restaurant called Suisse on the waterfront. Another chardy another onion soup.

    We walk through the streets, up steep cobblestone walkways with shops on each side.

    I buy a little hand fan. We sit in the shady gardens overlooking the lake in the coolness as it is very warm today.

    We head toward Villa Melzi and we are lucky to find it open until 6.30. It is 5pm. So a wander around the botanic gardens with species of trees and plants from all over the world. The main villa is closed but we walk through the family chapel and museum.

    On our map it shows WC which I am in need of, so I tell Athena I am looking for the water closet. I come back all happy 😊 it is then that she learns that I went to the Loo. Well off she went herself.

    Enjoying my leisurely stroll, next minute I roll my ankle for the 3rd time on this trip. Almost fall down the hill. I expected Athena to be laughing but she looked horrified.

    We come out of the Villa exactly on gate closing time. Walk back to the town and we find out the ferry does not go to Como and are told to take the bus. I thought that is ridiculous. We walk further up to the little Port and walk straight on a Hydrofoil. Which zooms us home across the water. Athena nearly falls asleep on the boat so we head up to our room for a nap.

    At 9.30pm, we decide to get dinner otherwise we will wake at midnight starving.
    I had the home made spaghetti with seafood. God it was good. Then off to bed.
    Read more