Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Varenna

    August 28, 2019 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    Up for breaky. We head to the dock and collect an all day ticket for the lake.

    With an hour to spare I took Athena to the beauty parlor, where my pedicure was done. Athena needs her brows waxed. I had left my mobile behind at the dock, and thought shit!
    The lady had it though. Thank god.

    We hit the shuttle boat with umbrella's in hand. It is overcast and raining with thunder overhead.
    We sit at the side windows and the view is sublime.

    Slow cruising with the towns passing by.
    I wish to see Villa Balbianello in the town of Lenno, where Anakin wed Padme in secret, but find out it is closed Wednesdays 😔
    So we continue to Varenna. The boat is truly hypnotic and we just stare out at the water, hills and cascading earthenware villas whilst being gently rocked.

    We stop at Varenna at 2.10pm. It is a pretty town with views across to Bellagio and Menaggio.

    A bit of jewellery shopping. I buy a bracelet with pink, purple and aqua stones. We have a late lunch on the river at Nilus Bar.

    Athena is having the drowned octopus 🐙 soup and I the tagliatelle with bacon.🥓 and parmesan. Athena tells me her drowned octopus is absolutely delicious and she also ordered her favourite food chippies nom nom.

    One thing I have noticed is that we are yet to eat indoors. The weather in Europe is devine.

    We walk upwards through rounded stone pathways toward the Villa Monestery. We go into an ancient church with rock pillars. It is a fairytale town with ivy hanging over everything.

    We head back to the dock about 6.30pm. I grab a gelati and we catch the slow boat again, this time we sit outside and just meditate on the blissful scenery.

    Athena and I play 80's pop quiz's. And a young couple quip in and play.

    Get back at 8.30pm and head off to bed. Doing nothing is tiring.
    Read more