Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1–2

    Lazy in Lugo

    October 1, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 24 °C

    It was not a whole lot of sleep last night. Sally, as I later found out her name, was on the top bunk and she was pretty restless. In the morning I say hello and I find out she's from Boulder Colorado, sort of in my backyard, worldly speaking that is.

    We got a great Camino conversation going right away. She is dealing with some ADHD issues that she has mostly conquered and she has made positive changes in her life. Still she is here on the Camino Primitivo on a 3 week vacation from her structural engineering job. Her knee hurts so we have time to chat until I go for my mtb ride. We get really deep and connected. Another good soul who showed me an aspect of myself that I never knew how to deal with and that she had done a lot of work on. Had a good laugh when I showed her the move I had to make when I got locked out yesterday with the wrong entry code. I slipped through the 4 inch wide bars sideways. They give just enough for it to work. She took the bus to Arzua and is renting a bike there to get to Santiago and save her knee. So now I am not the only switcheroo.

    Komoot proposed an expert mtb ride that turns out to be a couple of backcountry paved roads with a little bit of gravel track and a path that is fully grown over. But it gets hot fast today so I roll on back and grab some food from the highway store. That's all that's open and I roll into town for a good surprise of some live music at a bar so I lay down in the grass in the shade.

    Back at the albergue, I'm pooped so take a little nap, take a shower and then come out into the big square where there's more live music going on. This time it is a classic Galician group and the people in the street start dancing to the Celtic inspired music, that was quite a nice locals scene.

    I am still too stuffed from lunch to eat anything, even a salad, but I might have to make an effort. Some yogurt and a peach, perfect. And a chat with Sally about traveling in Bolivia. Nice.
    Read more