Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Silver City Trails and the drive

    November 15, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 10 °C

    I woke up from a deep slumber parked in a neighborhood. This always works in the Honda and I'm snug as a bug in a rug, what a great place to sleep.

    I park at Walmart because their lot of under video surveillance, it feels relatively safe for my stuff. I go ride through town and then Boston Hill. It's old mining land pock marked by pits. It has been reclaimed for recreation with many zig zag mountain biking trails. It's really well done with fun sections of swoopy trail. It has been a while since I got a good workout of more than an hour. 3 hours and a good sweat, needed! The fall colors abound and I am happy to get some fall feeling, I missed it completely in CB, while I was in Europe.

    I speak with a guy in a bike shop to get Intel for my next ride. He lived in Crested Butte for 5 years while I was there, but I had never met him. Weird conversation that should have gone to taking about when he lived there and what we might have in common but instead veered to "why he left Colorado and why he likes it in New Mexico". He was looking at the downside of things. I've been there too, but I didn't have the energy nor was it really the place at his work for me to bring him up.

    I buy food at the Walmart and set off to ride a bit more in Fort Bayard. Nice flowy trails, home of the Tommy Knocker 100 endurance bike race. My gears skip and I realize that I have chain stretch and worn teeth on my cassette. After ten years of riding, is time to update the components. I still early and it's ok, I'm actually a bit tired from the morning ride.

    Good time to set off towards Alpine in mid afternoon. Almost to El Paso, I stop to stretch and buy a $1.79 truck burger, it's actually edible. I send a picture of it to Oliver, he has all my burger pictures. I drive again and notice the poor folks going the other way, hopelessly stuck on the I10 freeway due to a major, what looks like, fatal truck accident. Not shortly thereafter I get stuck in a similar situation and I drive across an unauthorized piece of dirt with tire tracks in it to hop across a curb and free myself from eternal waiting. I take a nap in the parking lot of the outlet stores and wait out the wait while sleeping.

    Night fell, I get back on the road, I take the 375 loop to circumvent El Paso. The negative energy from this city is palpable and leaves me stunned, why?

    I'm generally stumped by all of it. I no longer connect in the old way to what they call civilization or luxuries, none of it makes sense anymore. I have a long way to go to learn how to become connected with the Power in challenged energy fields. It's easier in nature. Maybe it's simply not meant to happen in 'civilization' is a clear sign that's not where it's at. How many millions of people are trapped in these city lives!

    I camp in a picnic stop along Texas hway 181, quiet, dark and not even cold. Snug as a bug again. Happy with little.
    Read more