Satelital
Mostrar en el mapa
  • Día 14

    Kochi's old and new

    24 de marzo, Japón ⋅ 🌧 14 °C

    It's a rain day in the city. I have the hostel for two nights, no need to move. I got lucky to be in the city, the Danes are walking in the rain to get to the next hostel.

    I visit the Sunday market that has been going for over 300 years, it is located along a palm lined road 1.3 km long. Even in this persistent rain there are quite a few stalls open. I find locally made sushi and I know it's going to be fantastic so I buy some for breakfast.

    I was going to visit the castle but I'm starting to get drenched. There is a castle history museum on the corner so I hide in there to dry up and get a glimpse of Kochi history. After a few hours the rain lets up and I venture into the castle. Interesting but sparse, there is no furniture. I'm trying to imagine the Daishi reigning from here.

    Then I'm treated to an impromptu street party where the teenagers of the city have a stage to dance on and they are all dressed up in anime and other costumes. Great contrast to the old stiff times.
    Leer más