Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    To Kochi

    March 23 in Japan ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    As I walk out of the hotel there is a drizzling rain and the Japanese couple points it out to me. I smile and indicate I'm walking. The rain soon subsides and gets replaced by a nice ray of sunshine and I find a small path by the ocean through volcanic formations that the waves are crashing on. As I walk further along the coast I find more of those kinds of places and they're pretty impressive in terms of geology. A hidden temple in a cave is a great off the path surprise. The folded lava that erupted 1.4 million years ago at 4000 meters under the sea makes interesting shapes. It has been lifted by the tectonic plate shift. The wind is blowing pretty good and the waves make for lively scenery as I walk along the coast.

    At the Sadamaru burger joint I meet up again with Christian and a Danish couple who have 7k left to walk. I reach my goal for today in Kiragawa and photograph the old street.

    I'm now a bus and a train away from my hostel in Kochi that I booked for 2 nights. It started raining just as a boarded the train so I'm quite happy to be inside and on my way to the big city and I hope there is some action and fun stuff to do around there.
    Read more