Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Bike it is

    March 26 in Japan ⋅ 🌬 18 °C

    I'm a local today. Staying put for a few days, already got used to the supermarket, weirdly feels homey to be here. Sitting at a desk in my room I can get some of my admin done while it is still nasty out. The sun breaks through and Grandma's bicycle - meant to go to the supermarket - is beckoning to take it on a bigger tour. The road along the peninsula looks great. There are tons of frogs in the rice paddy fields and the white egrets have easy picking for food. The wind is fierce and a hawk drops out of a flowering prune tree barely able to remain stable in flight. A cherry tree grows out of a cliff and the hillside is dotted with blooming trees, even wild Camelia. I run into a group of young cyclists from Taiwan touring in Shikoku on their road bikes. As they set off I ride after them, catch up and at the next stop we get to talk some more. Great to speak with a fun group.

    The clouds come back in and I hit the market up for dinner. Take a quick break and head out again along the other coastal road. I'm getting a great workout in, biking is the way to travel. Should I buy one?

    A day that could have been completely ho hum, nowhere near any tourist spot, turned out just excellent. I have to many pictures.
    Read more