Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Ferry to Beppu

    March 31 in Japan ⋅ 🌙 12 °C

    I took the bus from Uwajima to Yawatahama and bought the ferry ticket. I met Leon from Germany, who also walked half of the Henro and is moving on to Kyushu. At the port was a speciality market which had unbelievable Japanese food items. The weather was also just perfect, sunny warm, that San Francisco Bay feeling, it was glorious. I'm excited to get on a ferry and be on the water and have a different mode of transportation.
    In Beppu, Leon and I go to a food court of all places and I get to try out a restaurant-made Ramen dish. I end up walking all around the town and then hiking up by the side of a river where the Sakura are blooming. That evening I go soak in the Hyotan Onsen. Beppu is a city of steam vents. If you built a city on top of Yellowstone park you get the idea.
    Read more