Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Fukuoka meander

    April 4 in Japan ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    Did a nice tablet work session in the morning while the weather wasn't all that great outside. Then I went meandering through the city which is highly industrious, cosmopolitan, very rich and incredibly well organized and clean, but it doesn't exactly inspire any kind of special vibe. Every big brand that you know from the west is represented in this city with a storefront.

    They do have a radio station that operates on the corner of a building just like they do in Tucson.

    In some backstreets I found a variety of small food shops where the locals were hanging out. Around a corner one has a huge line, it's a hole in the wall and it has to be really good if the young crowd is willing to wait at least 20 minutes out on the windy street. In no time there were an additional 10 youngsters behind me. It must be famous. I think I'll have a double order. I'm the only old person and the only westerner in line. The explanation is that it has become famous on Instagram. Voila, their marketing is all online and the old people have no idea. Well, we don't anyway now do we?

    I find out in my first bite why these dumplings merit such reknown. There is a delicious soup inside the dumpling. The technique is to bite off a small corner and drink/suck the soup out before eating the dumpling. It's insanely good!

    I'm not going to miss a beat in this city, tonight I'm attending a blues duo performance. Oh well. My friends play much better than these two. Lol. I'm still having fun though.
    Read more