Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Return bike to Onomichi

    April 9 in Japan ⋅ 🌧 12 °C

    I knock out the first 6K before 9:00 but it's still raining and it's supposed to rain for a bit more so I immediately stopped for a cup of coffee and regroup. It takes an hour for the rain to stop and there is no point in getting wet this early in the day. I'm getting some trip planning done.

    On the first bridge I run into a Brazilian couple, they were on their third trip to Japan, they really like it here. Then I took the road less traveled again and found this super nice little coastal trail. I love the process of discovery.

    The definition of a national park in Japan and in the US is quite different. In Japan that means that regular life and industrial development still happens within the confines of the park.

    Great ride, by 3 pm I was going to go by the burger place again but they were closed. Onwards, today is a long day again, well over 100 km just what I wanted. With the rain delay I actually realize that I won't make it back before 7pm and indeed I don't get back until 8:45pm just before the last ferry cut off. Good thing I pack my head lamp often. Great day in the saddle. Really pumped out some strong effort.
    Read more