Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    Volcano

    April 18 in Japan ⋅ ☀️ 13 °C

    This was a 'day of days'. That's how I like to call it when everything is superlative. Mr Kawasaki, my host takes me to a bicycle rental place, an ebike is going to be the best way to get to the volcano hiking trailheads. It will be a workout. Of course I get lost, end up on a small farmers road, hop a fence, and find my way again.

    The volcano is smoldering and access is not allowed within 1km due to the sulfuric gases. The trail I want to climb is on the other side, so it's up this side and down the swooping curves in the other side back down to the valley floor and back up to the trailhead. The path up is almost a steep scramble. I'm feeling good and I'm motivated.

    There are a few people up here, their silhouettes standing out on the stark ridges of this volcanic wasteland. The smell of sulphur wafts in and out, even from so far away you can feel warmth from the crater. I loop back down a different path, grab the bike, swoop down again and in Aso grab a bite. I still have energy and decide for the long way home around the entire volcanic dome complex in the center of one of the largest calderas in the world. At the end is the hot bath in an Onsen. It just doesn't get any better than these scenic, weather perfect, days.
    Read more