Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    Helicopter volcano

    April 19 in Japan ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    I get up early and dash out on the bicycle with a 75% battery to catch the helicopter as early as I can. It's a good ride up and it uses up about 40% of that battery so I made a plan to go back down and get a 100% battery after the helicopter ride and do more biking today instead of hiking.

    The helicopter ride was fantastic and made me realize just how much I miss flying my own plane. Seeing the crater from above was something else, it is truly a bath of sulfuric liquid down there just boiling away.

    Riding back down the curvy road to the valley floor I get a new battery and a taller seat post. I'm enjoying the mid-70s warm weather almost summer like conditions on the terrace eating some Takoyaki. Then I set off for a monster ride all around the caldera. Nice phone call with Oliver, first time talking since I got to Japan, it was about time.

    Again I catch an onsen at the end of the day in a nice mineral pool. These are the days! Carpe Diem.
    Read more