Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 42

    To Kyoto - food fest

    April 21 in Japan ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    Late Sunday morning wake up and easy train ride too Kyoto. I was going to try to eat less today but that will not be working out. There is just way too much good food around the stations, mostly bakeries with a Japanese twist on french pastry staples.

    Today the crowds are enormous, the most I've ever seen and this is the Japan that the tourists usually see. Even in Okayama for a Sunday morning there was a crowd.

    Excellent lunch with view from the 11th floor in Kyoto.

    I ran into a piano that is open for the public. But I wouldn't try to play there even if I was moderately excellent. The level was very high. Spring sonata by Beethoven played by young woman on the violin accompanied on the piano by her teacher. The big guy played a known piece but in a very different way, super amazing talent.

    3 hours later and I still haven't left the station to go into the city.

    Kyoto is exactly the Japanese city that I was anticipating seeing. It's the Gion ward that has the narrow restaurant lined walking streets. I found a blues and a jazz cafe. I might he save to stay longer in this city.
    Read more