Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 45

    Kyoto in style

    April 24 in Japan ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    Ran along the river, first run off the the year, I can still do it. Grabbed a salad at Family Mart, sat by the river and received a visit from a heron.

    Checked out of the hostel, walked to the theatre, where Miyako Odori is showing the 150th performance of this traditional Japanese dance, only for the month of April. It sold out early. A young lady tells me it is sold out and I say yes, it's too bad. Then she says are you just one person? It turns out there is one ticket for the tea ceremony and show left. I get to attend this event after all.

    For some more rainy day cafe time, I pick a new place on the 3rd floor overlooking the river. Cheers! Life is great.

    There is strictly no photography at the performance. So the memory is engraved in my brain instead.

    Dinner is at a nice restaurant on the river. Time to pick up my back pack and hike to the next hostel also in Kyoto. There is an Onsen there with an electric shock bath, I let it hit my calfs.
    Read more