Uydu
Haritada göster
  • Gün 53

    Kitayamazaki cape

    2 Mayıs, Japonya ⋅ ☀️ 16 °C

    The weather is back to sunny and no wind, it promises to be a fantastic day as I set out to what is hailed to be the best part of the entire thousand kilometers. It does not disappoint.

    Starting my walk in Tanohata, first along a road but soon on a single track right on the rocky coast, the trail leads to an island dotted with seagulls. I could have just stayed there for an hour but I know today is a long hike.

    The trail is steep and the steps are big, this makes for a good push today and I'm pretty rested after the last two. Up down up down but then all of a sudden it's such a steep down and I don't see where we could possibly be going up next. Then I see it we're going into a hand dug tunnel right on the water's edge. The Japanese are the kings of infrastructure but sometimes you really wonder why some things are built. This tunnel is such a case.

    Coming out of the first tunnel there is rockfall so I wait for a little to let it settle, then I dash out of this tunnel up some stairs into the second tunnel. Next is three sets of ladders to get up some steep rock.

    I'm at the top of the cliff now and I look down a set of stairs The steps are at least 12 in tall and it goes so far down I can't even see the end as it goes around one curve and the next curve and by the time I'm all the way down I realized that there must have been some 600 steps meaning we drop at least 200 m from the top down to the beach. I'm at the bottom of Kitayamazaki cape. I make myself comfortable on a rock have some of the food I brought and I hang out there. I see some grass and I feel a little tired so I lay down and I took a 1 hour nap to the sound of the crashing waves. The ringing of bear bells wakes me up. A young Japanese woman stands over me. She is only the fourth person I've seen this morning and all of them have been around this viewpoint.

    I have lunch at the restaurant to charge my phone and set off again for the next viewpoints about 10K away. The scenery changes to more foresty paths.

    I see another Serow deer that also just stands there and so do I as we look at each other I got to soak up some more forest bathing.

    What a glorious day!
    Okumaya devam et