Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 56

    Ryoishi reboot Goishi coast

    May 5 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    I chose to go to Ryoishi. It looks like the trail hugs the coastline, but it turns out to be a forestry road and absolutely no views of the ocean. I thought about Goishi coast - the initial plan - and that today is the last sunny day. Google says there is a bus at 9:19 it is 8:32 and Google says it's over an hour away. I didn't hesitate and started running, recovered my big backpack and while I never thought I would really make it I actually beat the time by 7 minutes. I'm super sweaty.

    On the bus I said to a talkative young Japanese woman who just visited her parents for Golden week, now she's in her way back to work, coffee roasting in Tokyo.

    The instant decision to go to Goishi Coast pays off. On this fantastic 80° sunny day I walk along a beach and reach a single track that overlooks rocky crags and I manage to break through some more thickets, this one was tough, but it is absolutely worth it. Mesmerizing wave action in thunder cove. The Pacific swells hit the coast in such a way that they produce a deep loud thunder on impact.

    It's 2 p.m. and I reach the Onsen. I was wondering if there was a bus but there isn't one. The old son has a restaurant but I am too stinky, so I decide to go in the Olsen and risk relaxing too much in the hot bath because I know I still have a 2-hour walk back to the bus terminal. I have a fabulous meal of meat, rice, seaweed and other vegetables on the terrace overlooking a rocky bay.

    Long day, I'm pooped and I'm on the bus, 56 minutes to the new hostel.
    Read more