Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 60

    Tokyo Day

    May 9 in Japan ⋅ 🌙 13 °C

    Relaxed start of the day with a cup of coffee and tying some knots in preparation for my river guide class. I booked a massage for 30 minutes later.

    At the Sky Tree tower I find out I can book dinner on top for tomorrow so I defer the visit today. Then I set off for the Bonsai museum, which is just as long a walk as a combination bus and subway ride. It's sunny so I walk the hour and a half. Part of it is by a nice canal and I get lost a bit as my phone battery died. I charged it again in a 7 11.

    I spent 2 hours looking at the Bonsai. The trees I saw were hundreds of years old. If you crouched under the stand you could visualize being in a forest looking up and from that perspective these little trees were just as impressive as the big ones on Yakushima. The master was working on trimming a three foot tall Bonsai with an 8 inch diameter trunk as apprentices watched and helped repot this ancient tree. How many masters have worked on this living organism?

    I set off to Shinyuku by metro but it is so dissonant with this theme it will have to have it's own entry.
    Read more