Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Exploring Edinburgh

    September 13, 2017 in Scotland ⋅ 🌧 10 °C

    Today I took a bus over to Leith to visit the Royal Yacht Britannia which is permanently docked alongside the Ocean Terminal shopping centre. I was quite early so only a few other people on board as I took the audio guided tour around the decks. If you are a fan of things royal, this is definitely recommended. You get to see the bedrooms, lounges, the elegant dining room where corporate events are held, and pose under the ships bell, and go down to the engine room. I imagine it gets quite busy later in the day, so I was glad I'd made an early start and was able to linger. In the evening I took a free Ghost Tour which started from a meeting point on The Royal Mile. There are lots of similar tours to choose from, but I always like to get something free. Our guide told us tales of grisly events from the past and alleged ghostly sightings as we walked around the streets, and we ended in Greyfriars Cemetery as dusk fell. It was not a very scary tour, more of a history tour, but standing among the headstones in the fading light was certainly atmospheric. A really great few days in Edinburgh with so much to seeRead more