Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Slightly Different Adventure

    April 11, 2016 in Canada ⋅ ☀️ 0 °C

    Hey folks! This blog risks to become much more boring, slightly less eventful, and probably shorter then the previous, but too bad! It's happening anyways!

    I wrote the east Africa blog with the mentality that only my parents and siblings would be reading. Turns out, lots of people I would never expect read, and a few siblings didn't (you know who you are!). This one though, I really am writing expecting most of you to stop following halfway due to the potential lack of interesting things to rapport, but I want to remember. My lack of memory means I gotta write it down, or it's gone.

    So this is the blog about two queer city girls, making their way to small town Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, to work in an emergency department. It's both Jack and I's (yes, she's also coming) first contract as travel nurses, so it might be interesting.

    Throughout Africa, I felt perfectly safe with my sexuality, despite it being illegal (death or life imprisonment) in the countries we visited. That was mostly due to the fact that no one would ever think gays existed around them. Jack and I made the decision not to hide ourselves in PA, and I have a feeling it might be more difficult then the trip. When Canadians see me, they see gay. They see different. Now, I'm used to being judged, that's a daily for me, and I've grown a thick skin. But this is in Ottawa, where it might not be the most liberal town, but I'm sure it's a few years ahead of PA. The comments might be more often, the stares might be longer, and I might be watching over my shoulder more. Or who knows, I might get none of it, and be welcomed with open arms; I'm sure not every small town follows the typical reputation of closed mindedness. After all, there is a pride parade in May! (Yep, with 21 people confirmed on facebook!). I guess only time will tell.

    As for prep work - I google map'd the whole town, printed out the downtown, wrote down restaurant ratings, checked out which coffee shop was open along the way, checked out registration fees at the local recreational center... And Jack's prep? Listening to me tell her all about it.

    Let's do this!
    Read more