Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    KATMER DAY

    May 16, 2022 in Turkey ⋅ 🌙 63 °F

    Noisy as heck boutique hotel, didn't sleep well. After breakfast, we walked around for a bit and found an outdoor bazaar. During Can's meeting, I talked with one of the other hotel guests who is a lady from Croatia who lived in Germany for a while, so we spoke German. She gave me the tea on how she doesn't like the woman she is traveling with and I felt bad for her. After that, Can and I finally went to get katmer from a nearby place! Interestingly enough, we seemed to be in the middle of a crime scene. There were police inspecting a car where supposedly the owner of the car's brother shot 2 bullets through the windows. We were literally sitting there eating katmer and drinking tea as they inspected the crime scene hahaha. Other curious onlookers unashamedly walked right up too. Strange but funny. After that, we walked around the Gaziantep castle, I learned some history, saw some views. Then during Can's next meeting, I chatted with both the ladies in German. It was an interesting interaction. After that, we got juice, explored the city a bit, then I checked out the indoor bazaar and the copper bazaar. Later on, we got chicken dinner from a Syrian place and then got katmer from a restaurant. Yessss, more katmer! Finished off by getting pistachios for the road tomorrow.Read more