Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Flamingos and Donkeys and Goats, oh my!

    September 27, 2022 in Bonaire ⋅ ⛅ 86 °F

    Got my rental car today and began driving around the south, stopping every few minutes when there was a nice viewpoint or something interesting to see. The coast along the east has such beautiful beaches and there are so few people that you can stop anywhere and pretty much have the whole place to yourself. If you do see people, they are mainly divers. I passed by the salt flats which were actually pink!! It would be cool to do a photoshoot there. There were also slave huts (left there as a reminder of their history), lots of wetlands/ marshes in the interior, beautiful calm water along the coast, and then I came across wild FLAMINGOS. So pretty. 🦩And afterwards, I even found a herd of wild DONKEYS. I befriended them by feeding them apples haha. Also saw goats but didn't stop in time. Need to find some more. Made my way around the entire south, then went back to the west for a swim before heading home and enjoying another sunset dinner. A nice start to my exploring!Read more