Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    I like it industrial and hard-working

    June 29, 2018 in Romania ⋅ 🌧 21 °C

    This is an accumulation lake on Argeș river, just outside of Pitești. There's another one, right after the city. It looked like a great resource and community asset. Places such as these add so much to the quality of life.

    Forgive me, fathers of architecture, for I have sinned #acrossRomania. I said that I liked Pitești, an industrial city, with nothing much that stands out, more than Sibiu, a medieval town with a rich cultural and historic life. The thing is, Pitești had to work on improving its city center.

    Things were not given to the current generation of people living there on a silver platter. They did not have medieval squares, cobblestone streets... yet they turned a boring city core surrounded by brutalist buildings into a living and breathing promenade.

    The center is full of locals, instead of tourists, the green area felt multidimensional and interactive. Unfortunately, I was not able to capture the spirit I felt, so you'll have to find satisfaction in architectural details 😊

    As I cycled just 40 km today, I decided that I'll not stop in the city or around it, but instead continue further down the road.
    Read more