Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 78

    Chiang Mai and controversial visits

    May 12, 2017 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 33 °C

    Before I arrived in Chiang Mai we stopped in smaller Chiang Rai to see the White Temple. Pretty awesome, it looks like it could be something out of the ice age or maybe more likely Disney's 'Frozen' movie - it was definitely not frozen temperature however! The temple is shaped almost in a gothic style and glistend in the sun. Like many temples it depicts both good and evil themes, this one had skulls and bones at the front to represent evil. After that I took the three hour ride to Chiang Mai - this time it was a coach rather than a local bus (a bit more pleasant).

    Arriving there, for some unknown reason I was greeted with the warble of Celine Dion's 'My heart will go on'. Why? It seemed so out of place amongst the typical chart hits that dominate SE Asia. It wouldn't be the last time I heard that here either... odd.

    The next day I got my bearings and wandered around the city a bit. It's a nice place with the main area surrounded by a large moat, the people here seem more friendly too. The North is also famous for a great dish called Khao Soi; a soup with a chilli flavour and soft and crispy noodles - it was very tasty. In the evening I wondered around the night market and tried not to buy anything much to all the vendors' annoyance.

    So, the controversial part: I was slightly conflicted about going to the Tiger Kingdom. I'd read a few things and heard a few differing opinions but knew a number of people who had visited. I'd spoke to people previously who recommended it too and a couple of backpackers I'd met on the boat from Laos were also keen to see it. So much to my mother's probable horror (I imagine), we decided to go and see it for ourselves and play with tigers. 🐯

    Verdict: it was actually pretty cool, I was pleased to see the tigers wern't drugged, some were running around and two of them were play fighting each other quite aggressively. The place and pens could have been a little larger ideally and obviously they were quite tame - for tigers! When it came time to step into the cage with one I was slightly anxious but I'd watched a few other people do it and emerge unscathed so we headed in and had our photo with a couple of massive tigers and stayed in their presence for a while. One was asleep but woke up and looked at me, it wasn't bothered but it's pretty freaky being face to face with one. The trainer said to pet it firmly on its back as otherwise they might think you are a fly and swat you which probably isn't the best outcome for a successful visit. I petted as hard as you'd pat a large dog. It behaved like my cat, just a giant one - it was yawning and rolling around and occasionally it would take interest in something else - at least it didn't scratch! It was amazing to be so close to it.

    Obviously the conflicting part is they aren't in the wild and are bred in captivity as unfortunately they are poached relentlessly. They seemed relatively happy - I guess they are used to relying on humans for everything but it's a shame for them. We also went into a small lions pen and had a few pics there. This was a young lion and it was pretty lively - it was probably about the size of a big dog but way more powerful. I got the best selfie with it. I'd wanted to see the baby tigers too but they wernt being bred during this season so unfortunately there was none there, we did see a baby lion being played with by the staff though - it ran around like a puppy. All in all I was ok with the visit - whilst it was awesome to be in the animals presence, ultimately they should be wild and free, but they are in danger so I guess this is one way to keep the species going - definitely wouldn't be allowed in the UK - once again health and safety is Asia's top priority... not! 🙄

    The next day I attended a Thai cooking class, it was excellent. I made a Pad Thai, a Tom Yom soup and a Massaman curry - delicious. We got a cook book too which was great so maybe I can actually recreate a couple of things if I can get hold of the ingredients. Good luck finding a kaffir lime Dan! I think mine may have to substituted a little, and I reckon not quite so spicy! 😰

    One of the most popular activities to do in Chiang Mai is to go to an elephant sanctuary. I mean they call them sanctuaries but you can never be sure. There's literally dozens and they all seem to offer a similar formula. I was keen to go to one where you don't ride them, as the ones that are ridden are very often really abused. I picked a camp (Elephant Jungle Sanctuary) based on chatting to a few people and good ol Trip Advisor. I chose a half day experience - we fed the elephants (you had to wear this odd outfit so they recognised you had food) surely holding the food would have been enough...? We also had a mud bath with them and then washed them off in the river - it was great. They are cheeky animals always attempting to steal food. A baby elephant stood on my foot the little bugger (At least it wasn't his mum, otherwise I wouldn't have a foot anymore!) The elephants seemed happy enough here too. The trainers said that some had been rescued from riding. I don't know, like the tigers, elephants are wild animals and really ought to stay as such but they looked healthy and were certainly getting plenty to eat. I swear every one of them went through about ten big bunches of bananas and they were still hungry. 🍌🍌🍌

    I got back to the hostel and went to the pool for a while. I got involved with a game of water volleyball with a ridiculously competitive American - he might as well have been in the Olympics the way he was behaving (it's just a game man).

    Went for dinner and what do you know... Celine Dion's playing again... perplexing.
    Read more