Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    A Message from the Portland Ghostriders

    September 13, 2019 in France ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    I have previously mentioned that, when we were on the L'Estello barge in Provence, we were joined by three American riders from Portland Oregon. Although we teased them mercilessly, it was actually great fun to have them share the ride with us. Their good humour meant that they could easily fit in with the silliness that was a feature of every day's ride and every evening meal.

    One of the Portland ladies has sent me the following account which I am happy to include in our blog.

    "A noisy group -especially when playing PIG! They said they could hear us on the other boat! When I first met the Ghost Riders, I wondered how the week would go, but I felt welcome from the start, and I even became an honorary member. I learned many new words, like “chevis” and “as useful as a one-ended stick.” Dennis made sure I learned about Australia, but luckily he forgot about the promised “test at the end.” I can’t believe there have been over 42 Ghost Rider trips and hope your trip through the Loire Valley is as wonderful as it sounds!!

    Let me know if you would consider coming to Oregon for an official trip -we have bike tours through the gorge that are spectacular, mid-summer are our Cycle Oregon weekends, and mid-September is our legendary, week-long Cycle Oregon; I would love to host a visit for you to the new Oregon Chapter! I had so much fun with all of you, and I have many found memories and pictures. I hope to ride with you again -let me know if there’s an opening for your Cuba trip! I wish you all the best and hope to come to Melbourne someday and ride with you again!!

    Until we meet again-Mira Vowels, honorary Ghost Rider"

    Thank you Mira, it was our pleasure to share those few days with you and your fellow Americans. Who knows, maybe one day we will be able to take you up on your offer of riding in your part of the world.
    Read more