Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    A Rest Day in Trinidad

    March 13, 2020 in Cuba ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    After the non stop activity of the first few days in Cuba, I had been eagerly looking forward to our first rest day. It is always a lovely feeling to have so much time and so little to do with it. While we had options to partake in several activities, including a catamaran trip to a nearby island, for me it would be a great chance to partake of my favourite activities – walking and people watching.

    My first night in the casa particulaire must have been a restful one. I awoke to the unfamiliar sound of horsesteps outside my window. It brought back vivid memories of life in Melbourne in the 1950s when I often heard the milkman and his horse doing their early morning milk deliveries. When I checked my mobile phone for the time it was after 7 am ! For someone who usually wakes before 6 am, this was certainly an indulgence.

    It was when I checked my email that I received the worst possible news that one of our much loved and respected riders had passed away the previous day in Melbourne. Helen Wilkie had been undergoing a long battle with cancer for over a year. Although she had made some temporary recoveries, her condition had worsened. I had last spoken with her just a few days before we left Australia and I could not believe that she would no longer be a part of our Ghostrider family. Helen was not just a keen cyclist, she was also very involved in Rotary and had been a regular participant in their annual ride for health. One of her last acts was to arrange her funeral so that it could take place after this year’s ride was completed. We will all miss her immensely.

    I then joined Linda and Janna who were already having breakfast and shared the news with them. We had been told about how good the breakfasts were in the Casas, but this was my first chance to experience one for myself. It really was superb. Jenny and Carlos had prepared a full table of fruits, bread, pancakes, pastries and juice. A fresh omelette was also supplied to order.

    Linda and Janna then left to join the catamaran trip while I caught up on emails and other matters. I then set out to explore more of Trinidad and found myself walking back through the park and up to the Plaza Major. Outside the telecom shop a long queue was already forming to purchase Internet access cards. Each card costs 1 CUC (about $2) and gives 1 hour of (slow) access time.

    The main plaza is on an elevated part of the city and gives a great view over the rooftops and out to the Caribbean Sea. A huge market was being set up. I walked back and forth, returning every cheerful “Hola” that was directed in my direction. Although there was a huge number of traders, most of them were selling the same items, so it became rather repetitive.

    Very soon the heat started to build and I stopped for a cold drink, before slowly finding my way back to the casa. The heat seems to be getting a bit worse every day and this does not auger well for the next few days of cycling. After a brief rest, I ventured back in search of somewhere for lunch. I found a lovely old restaurant with a towering ceiling and ordered an Hawaiian pizza and a coffee. They were both delicious and the young waiter spoke quite good English.

    On my return walk I thought I would join the queue for an Internet card. I waited in the line for 20 minutes, but it did not move. No one seemed to know what the problem was. People started knocking on the door, without response. I gave up and walked back to the casa, dodging numerous horses and motorcycles along the way. It was time for an afternoon siesta.

    Since the Internet is so precious here, I will have to upload pictures at a future time.
    Read more