Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37

    The "New Normal"

    April 7, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    Now that most Australians have been confined to their homes, it is already evident that subtle (and some not so subtle) changes have been taking place. People who once prided themselves on their smart attire are now content to wander about their homes in their pyjamas till sometime after lunch, then change into their trakky pants and tops. Some who used to always rise with the larks are now learning a new skill. It's apparently called "sleeping in".

    Back in the old days when all we had to communicate was a mobile phone, you never knew what the other party was actually doing when you called. I have even heard of cases where (horror of horrors) people have chatted on their phones while they are sitting in the toilet.

    Now with the advent of video calls, it is no longer possible to hide in obscurity. If we answer a call while we are sitting in our underwear, the whole world will know (and see) what is going on. With the proliferation of these video calls, I have been gaining an interesting insight into the way our friends have metamorphised over the past couple of weeks.

    When I now chat with my friends the people that I see looking back at me are not the same people that I remembered from the last time I saw them in person. What I now see are unwashed faces, stubbly chins, messed up hair and unbrushed teeth. If that was not bad enough, the men are even worse ! Is that what they refer to as the "new normal" ?

    If I am brutally honest, I would have to admit that my own lofty standards have also slipped just a little. Perhaps that is due to the fact that I have been living alone for the past two weeks. That will all come to an end tomorrow, when I will be making the journey down to Inverloch to be reunited with Maggie and Lailla (the dog, not a secret mistress).

    So how did I spend my last full day of isolation ? The highlight was a lengthy bike ride exploring some recently completed new bike paths. Although the weather was a bit grey, at least it did not rain. I have to admit that time on the bike is the very best medicine for improving the morale. The only sad aspect was the sight of all my favourite coffee shops closed and empty. I seriously wonder if many of them will survive this challenge, no matter how much government support they get.

    In the afternoon I had another event occur to brighten my spirits. It was a long video chat with my 10 month old grandson. He really is at an adorable age, and it breaks my heart to think that I may not be able to give him a hug for some months. It is looking like he will not even be able to have his first birthday party. I realise that many are much worse off, but it is still a difficult burden for Maggie and me to carry.

    Tomorrow morning I will clean the house and finish packing the car. Then I will turn out the lights for last time in goodness knows how long. Stay safe everyone.
    Read more