Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 49

    Maggie Becomes a Victim

    October 12, 2016 in France ⋅ 12 °C

    Wednesday October 12th
    In Which One of Us Becomes a Victim

    Maybe it was the spluttering lady on the flight from Budapest or maybe it happened on the train to St Malo. Somewhere in the past few days a single malevolent bacterium or virus had obviously found its way into Maggie's respiratory system and discovered that it was perfect place to raise a big family.

    The first indication I had that all was not well was when I thought we had discovered a walrus colony on the beach at St Malo. When I turned around I could not see a mustachioed walrus anywhere in sight, but I did see Maggie doubled over in a vigorous (and quite impressive) display of coughing. This did not auger well.

    "I feel really sick" she explained. "I think I caught the plague from somebody".
    This was not the way that I had planned to spend our time in St Malo.

    "Perhaps it will get better really quick", I tried to comfort her.

    It didn't. By the next morning she was sneezing and coughing in alternating sequences of respiratory contractions. We went in search of a pharmacy in order to get some medication. We eventually found one in the old city and she came out holding a large back of pills and potions, all inscribed with directions which we could not decipher.

    "You should always start by taking a BIG dose", I expertly advised. She obediently followed.
    "How can I measure the amount of cough medicine to take, when we don't have a medicine cup ?"
    "I can measure it with my eyes, I used to study chemistry about half a century ago".

    She swallowed down a huge dose (about half the bottle), rolled her eyes and asked to go back to the hotel. It seemed a shame to waste another perfectly sunny day in such a beautiful place, but I knew she was not well. We had no other choice. Let's both hope she gets better soon and also hope that I don't catch it as well (as I am a hopeless patient).
    Read more