Satelita
Pokaż na mapie
  • Dzień 7

    Grasmere to Patterdale

    8 maja, Anglia ⋅ ☁️ 11 °C

    Another day without rain but there was heavy fog. Again being the lake district this was a hike out of the valley of Grasmere to a ridge about 500 metres with options of returning to the next river valley or hiking higher and doing another ridge hike. I was away by 8:30 again. I woke up at 5:30 having gone to bed at 10 pm. Initially I didn't see the brothers but after an hour I could see them in the distance. As I climbed higher out of the valley it became gradually more foggy and the surrounding ridges were engulfed and covered in fog. I passed Katie a hiker camper. She was doing the C2C in 11 days and looked very fit. I passed some rangers doing trail maintenance and they didn't think the fog would clear. By the time I reached Grisdale tarn(small lake), I couldn't see anything beyond a few metres. I met the three brothers sitting by the lake(tarn) debating what to do. They had also reached the conclusion that it would be unsafe to attempt a ridge hike. We all continued down into the Patterdale valley and we realized that the fog on the last part of the ridge above us had cleared. At the rate we were walking we realized that we would be at Patterdale by 1 pm which was too early to end the day. As such we decided to hike a trail from the river valley up to the last part of the ridge. Another 400 metre elevation but it was well worth it to look down onto Ullswater Lake. From the height it was a downhill walk into Patterdale and to the Ullswater Inn where we all got a very poor reception at the reservation desk. The hotel seems very nice other than the officious receptionist. I met Sarah and David from the train ride and they seemed to be enjoying themselves. I am just chilling before I go down for supper Czytaj więcej