Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 53

    Carlsbad

    February 20, 2015 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    On my walks I always passed a huge building with the name GIA that had security officers posted at the entrance. My curiosity led me to Google the name and I learned that it was the Gemological Institute of America. They offer free guided tours so I reserved a spot. The GIA developed the international system for grading diamonds. Besides being an education institution for gemologists, they also train the FBI on how to identify stolen jewels and they offer an analysis and grading service to the general public. It was very interesting. There were exhibits on gems, as well as a special gallery showing of agate sculptures by a world renowned sculptor.

    Then it was back to business as today was moving day. My next destination was Laguna Beach, 75 km north on the I-5. I dread driving on that highway! When Alyssa drove the I-5, I came home with a migraine. I watch the news every evening and I've begun calling the I-5 the "death-a-day freeway". The drive went smoothly though until I got to Laguna Beach and couldn't find the resort. My loveable GPS took me to Pacific Coast Highway North instead of South.
    Read more