Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 62

    Palm Springs

    March 1, 2015 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 11 °C

    The forecasters announced a "winter storm advisory" for today. What?? This is California, not North Dakota! The forecast was for snow above 4,000 feet, rain at lower elevations, and wind gusts up to 50 mph. I was concerned about having to drive through a mountain pass to get to my next home in Palm Springs. During the 2+ hour drive I did encounter periods of heavy rain but the worst part was the insane drivers here who don't know how to slow down for the road conditions. There was one short delay due to a small rock slide. When I arrived in Palm Springs it was raining and the temperature was only 11 degrees.

    My new residence is the Palm Springs Tennis Club Resort which is 4 short blocks off of the main street, Palm Canyon Drive. I'm in what they call a "bungalow", which is a maze of similar units with central courtyards and gardens. It's quite spacious, nicely furnished, and very comfortable.
    Read more