Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 71

    Las Vegas

    March 10, 2015 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    I have been savouring my last few hours of freedom and solitude as John arrived this afternoon on a non-stop flight from YWG. Over the next few days we experienced Vegas unlike previous trips to the city. I walked the Strip daily that was an endless crowd shoulder-to-shoulder. In the evenings John would join me as we dined, gambled and lost, and drank cheap rum and coke. I planned an itinerary that included seeing The Million Dollar Quarter, which was based on the 1956 historical meeting and impromptu jam session of Elvis Presley, Johnny Cash, Carl Perkins and Jerry Lee Lewis. It was an excellent show. We also saw Raiding the Rock Vault which is the story of Classic Rock from the 60s to the 80s, performed by actual band members. My seat rumbled with the loud bass sound and guitar solos. Our last show was Michael Jackson One by Cirque du Soleil. Wow!! This was our first Cirque show so we didn't know what to expect but we were amazed. I bought the cheapest tickets for $85, which were on opposite sides of the theatre. When we arrived, I politely asked if it was possible to sit together. We were upgraded to two stage centre seats that cost $165!! We absolutely loved the show and it was the highlight of our week in Vegas.Read more