Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Lihue

    March 4, 2017 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 22 °C

    Today was moving day to Kauai Beach Villas, 9 km south. I was very close to being homeless as I booked this condo less than 24 hours before check-in. At $800 it was my most expensive week but the regular rate was $1900, which is typical for a mid-range condo in Hawaii. The canopy of banyan trees creates a natural gateway to the resort. This is a large resort with several buildings so I was shocked to be assigned an ocean front deluxe unit as only 2 of the 8 buildings are on the ocean. It's spacious at 900 sq ft and has a large lanai with a nice view of the grounds and ocean. The beach is perfect for long walks but it's not swimmable because of riptides. There are no stores or restaurants within walking distance so I had to drive into town to restock food & wine supplies. I'm enjoying the pretty and peaceful location.Read more