Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Anini Beach - Hanalei

    March 13, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    Yesterday we went to Anini Beach, a few km South. John read his book while I walked the beach and swam. I attempted to snorkel but there was no one else in the water and the reef looked to be quite a distance out. The beaches here all have the warning sign, "If in doubt, don't go out". So I didn't go out! John was so involved in his book that he wouldn't even be aware that I had drowned.

    Today we drove West across several single lane bridges to where the road ends at Ke'e Beach. We had a picnic at Ha'ena Beach; John read his book; and I went for a long beach walk. The sand was soft and I would sink 2-3" with each step, kind of like trudging through deep snow but not quite! It was a real workout. I saw another monk seal with 3 tourists far too close taking photos.

    On our way home we stopped at the Hanalei Farmers Market and at Hanalei Beach. This is the beach where Garrett & Alyssa had their first surfing lesson! Lots of good memories here. Hanalei has the prettiest United Church I have ever seen.
    Read more