Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 60

    Vilamoura Convalescent Home for Seniors

    February 28, 2018 in Portugal ⋅ 🌧 15 °C

    Also known as the Four Seasons Vilamoura! We enjoyed our first two days here as it was a warm 20 degrees and the sun felt so good. The first day we walked into the main village to buy food at the supermercado as we planned to make use of our well-equipped kitchen. The next day we walked to the marina which is lined with shops, bars and different ethnic restaurants. I had finished my antibiotics so I could resume my self-guided Portuguese wine tasting tour. The 8 days of Clarithromycin left a metallic taste in my mouth and killed my appetite so my first glass of wine tasted horrible. We really enjoyed our relaxing afternoon in the sunshine.

    Then the “Beast from the East” arrived, which is what the news people are calling the cold front that is affecting all of Europe. We have had 3 days of temperatures around 17, grey clouds and light drizzle. It seems to clear a bit around 3 or 4 so we’ve walked to the village to pick up supplies and, more importantly, just to get some exercise and fresh air. It is a 4 km round trip. Then it rains again in the evening. They are predicting this weather pattern is going to persist until next week. Portugal has had drought conditions for months and we were told they lost 80% of their forests to wildfires. So they need the rain more desperately than I need sunshine, or at least that’s what I keep telling myself.

    John has made an almost full recovery from his bronchitis, although he still has a strong exercise-induced cough. It doesn’t help that our resort is at the top of a hill again! Two days ago I thought I was almost back to normal but today my cough has been worse. My chest is sore from nearly 3 weeks of coughing and I can tell when I’m due for my puffer. There’s not much to do here, particularly in this weather, so it’s a good time to rest. The car rental clerk in Ponta Delgada said the humid weather is hard on tourists. So when we went to pick up our car the next day he gave me a little bag of eucalyptus leaves with instructions to pour boiling water over them, cover my head with a towel, and inhale the vapour. I don’t know if it will cure me but it sure feels soothing just before bedtime. I was very impressed with his thoughtfulness.
    Read more