Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    MS MIDWAY - SAN DIEGO HARBOUR

    December 31, 2018 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    The highlight of San Diego was the MS Midway Aircraft Carrier Museum. We spent 3 hours exploring the immense ship and only saw a portion of the exhibits. They allowed us to return the following day to complete our tour, another 3 hours. The Midway is run by volunteers and receives no government funding. We’ve always been fascinated by these carriers in the middle of some ocean with aircraft coming and going day and night (which we learned occurs every 45 seconds!). The Americans have a very high regard for their military.

    JS’s knees and hips are troubling him again, compounded by the regained weight since April. We never made it to the Gaslight historic area or to the famous zoo and I had to readjust some of our dinner plans that were too far for him to walk. I’ve realized that I will have to lower my expectations in terms of activities for this trip.

    Day 2 and I took my first tumble....rainy, dark unlit street, turned to give JS directions, and the curb attacked me! Minor abrasions and no fractures. This newly diagnosed osteoporosis is going to be a challenge for me as I always was a clumsy kid!
    Read more