Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    More Waikiki

    February 11, 2020 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    It always takes me a couple of days to readjust to being alone. I had planned to travel to Maui or the Big Island and although there were condos available I couldn’t get excited about the effort it would take to do the inter-island flight. Car rentals were also expensive, at least $450/week. So I decided to stay at the same place in Waikiki where I wouldn’t have to rent a car. The one bedroom condo at the Royal Kuhio was only $85/night so it was affordable and centrally located. What I hated about it was the creepy crawlers! Every night I would kill a bug or two, from tiny sugar ants to the fastest moving species that were likely cockroaches. I kept the kitchen spotless and all food in the fridge but I still found bugs on the counters, the floor and in the dishwasher (which I stopped using). I got maintenance to spray but it didn’t help so I kept the broom at my side ready for my attack!

    I didn’t enjoy Waikiki as much as on previous visits. It was very crowded, crime was up, and the sidewalks on some streets were in disrepair (a hazard for one who has a tripping history). The nightly news reported that crime was up 48% over last year, mainly with armed muggings of tourists and purse snatching from the elderly. On my walks I only carried ID and my cellphone in my pocket, no purse.

    Waikiki is spread along the coastline so there was a large area to choose a different route for my daily walks. A walk at sunset was my favourite time of day. My goal is to get rid of the excess belly fat that has mysteriously appeared over the last few months. Walking is the part I enjoy most on our winter breaks, especially when it is so scenic. My longest walk this week was 17,911 steps, or 12.5 km!
    Read more