Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 46

    Exploring

    February 22, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    The Saturday morning Salamanca Market is the largest in Australia and is a major attraction in Tasmania. There was a little bit of everything....garden produce, artisans, local foods, locally produced gin, food booths and entertainment. I was impressed but there were so many people there, in part because a large cruise ship was in port.

    After lunch I took a leisurely stroll along the waterfront and discovered another free music event. This was a Blues, Brews and BBQs Festival sponsored by a local brewery. There were a lot of people crammed into a small space so I listened to a couple of songs and then moved on.

    It was warm and sunny. I slowed my pace down and enjoyed a relaxing day. For dinner I walked across the street to a locals hotel and pub called The Welcome Stranger Hotel and ordered a pizza for take-out. The pizza wasn’t the best but the experience was worth it.
    Read more