Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 71

    Peaceful despite COVID-19

    March 18, 2020 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 24 °C

    I’ve been to The Cliffs in Princeville three times and have come to realize that this is my happy place in Hawaii. Princeville has beautiful golf courses, cliffs, ocean vistas and lovely landscaped residential areas that provide a very pleasant experience when taking long walks. The condo is a spacious 950 sq ft with two patios and ocean view so it has been very comfortable. I have only killed one little worm the first day.

    The weather has been dismal the last two days with on and off rain, heavy at times with up to 2-3” per hour. The ground was already saturated so the flash flood warnings are ongoing. There has been a tornado watch and severe thunderstorm warnings. This is occurring throughout all the islands and is due to a “Kona low”. I have still been able to get out for a walk during dry periods. It is supposed to start clearing tomorrow.

    Coronavirus has been on the news 24/7 disrupting regular programming which is usually reruns. The US and Hawaii in particular has been very slow to react. Cruise ships, the ones that are still sailing, continue to come to Hawaiian ports. Just yesterday Hawaii started closing public facilities and events. Hawaii is not suggesting closure of businesses, such as restaurants and bars. The resort is still holding social gatherings with 30 or more people in attendance in a small room. They have been panic buying, especially toilet paper. I have been trying to buy hand sanitizer and Lysol wipes since I arrived in Hawaii and they are sold out everywhere with new shipments disappearing “within an hour”. Other than grocery shopping and daily walks I have been self-isolating and am fine with that.

    My flight to Vancouver is scheduled to depart this evening at 10:40. All flights this week are sold out. I feel healthy and don’t anticipate being denied boarding. I found Lysol cleaner with the housekeepers supplies and have saturated some normal wipes with the solution. I will be thoroughly cleaning my space on the plane. I have eye drops and bought nasal lubricant that is supposed to help resist viruses so now I just have to remember not to touch my face!
    Read more