Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 70

    Kalkan

    October 18, 2022 in Turkey ⋅ ☁️ 77 °F

    Stopped in Kalkan for a few days to break up our drive from Bodrum to Antalya. Another tourist destination, this one preferred by Brits. Our Airbnb was 86 steps above street level, and about 1/2 mile uphill from the main town so we definitely got a workout just staying here.

    The area reminds me of México: large, beautiful villas and condos next to vacant lots filled with construction debris and trash.

    I also learned about solar hot water when I went to take a shower at my customary 9-ish pm and it was lukewarm. 😧 I’ll be getting clean when it’s still daylight from now on. 😂

    Oh, and have I mentioned that the pools here aren’t heated? So beautiful but I’m going to have to pass. Probably wonderful when it’s 90°F+ in the summer.
    Read more