Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Seattle… what have you given us?

    May 21, 2018 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 11 °C

    My early morning walk took me past Big Fish. Not a salmon or a tuna or even a sturgeon [a large creature found in Vancouver waterways]. No, it was a game company e.g. 'Gummy Drop'.

    It got me thinking. What else has Pacific North West given the world? A quick search revealed familiar icons… Boeing [707 - '54; 747 - '69; 787/Dreamliner - '11] / Starbucks ['71] / Microsoft ['75] / Amazon ['94] / Big Fish ['02]

    Research showed…Carnation [1899] / Defibrillator ['62] / Bone marrow transplant ['63] / Compact Disc ['65] / Ultrasound ['67] / Pictionary ['85] / Kindle ['07]

    This begs the question, why all this creative energy? This entrepreneurial acumen? This courage and genius? I can’t give you the answer. But I wonder…
    Does cooler weather keep the brain more active? Do long wet periods keep people inside and being social? Does it force them outside and doing more anyhow? Has distance from the east coast made a difference? Are they not afraid to play? To think outside the box? To search for answers to problems?

    Let me take another sip of my Starbucks coffee… and ponder a while!
    Read more