Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 38

    Ke'awa'iki

    March 5, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    We initially wanted to camp at the large cove around the corner but quite a few locals had already set up camp for the weekend and we had find a new spot.
    I decided to keep waking down the coastline in hopes of finding a campsite. As I rounded the corner into the next cove I knew I had found the perfect spot.
    Trees lined the coast which was made up of lava tide pools. We set up our tents being cautious of the Kiawe (the "w" is pronounced as a "v") which have nasty thorns that go straight through a pair of sandals. Then threw the hammocks up in the trees and started relaxing. This is one of my favorite camp spots. We played for a while in the tide pools and examined some of the little creatures living in them.
    We watched the sunset from the tide pools. It morphed into a pink, purple, and golden yellow light show. Beautiful!
    Read more