Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Day 1 - Florida to Lafayette, IA

    July 5, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 35 °C

    Today I woke up at 5am and was out the door by 530 with the guys in the van. Very long drive day; nothing too eventful but nonetheless long. I only slept a few hours total and mostly watched the scenery or rested my head. We also did the first Panera stop as we’re all members of the Sip Club. I got a half green goddess salad with Caesar and half a Turkey sandwich.

    We made a few stops here and there, the only really worth mentioning is Joyland in Nashville. It was cool to briefly go back to that area as it’s right where I used to go visit all the time. This place is a burger place that some famous chef opened and apparently uses special methods to get the temperature just right. I got a “Crust Burger” which is essentially a smash burger but even the buns are smashed. Pretty good, I’d have it again at some point. The curly fries were okay, nothing special and probably the froze Oreida ones.

    Afterwards we drove several more hours and landed up at a Marriott in Lafayette Indiana after Doug took a bunch of wrong turns finding the place. They messed up the booking so we got two rooms (I’m with Doug). Best part is it’s like a suite so it has a separate bed room and everything so I get to be alone a bit.

    Tomorrow is a short drive to Fioras in Geneva, Illinois. Tomorrow should also be the day I get the new Victoria Tremolux. It’s also the day we try a new rectifier in my Bassman…hopefully it powers on without blowing a fuse!
    Read more