Satellite
Afficher sur la carte
  • Jour 26

    A Day to Chill, a Day to Hike

    14 septembre 2018, Australie ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    Gadi woke up early so he made some sandwiches for breakfast, packed his lunch and left before 7am, heading into Carnarvon Gorge for a full day of hiking.

    Meanwhile, I was awake so went to sit outside with my coffee, contemplating the serenity of the early morning and the magic of the surrounding cliffs, different in every light.

    While sitting outside, Cadbury by my side, I saw what i think were two eagles soaring high above the gorge. They swooped and seemingly floated on air, searching for prey. They got closer and closer to our end of the campsite until they were right overhead. I felt quite spooked and held Cadbury tightly by his collar, well aware of the stories that they can take small dogs.

    I spent the day relaxing, reading, re-organizing some of our cupboards - I have no idea how we accumulate so much stuff in such a small space!

    Cadbury and I walked around the camp site and were lucky enough to have a mother and baby wallaby spend the entire day just across from us, and later in the day they even made their way over by our caravan, where I got some good photos of them.

    Gadi finally got back around 5.30pm, totally exhausted and barely able to walk (his arthritic toe was obviously bothering him) but he’d had a great day and walked over 25km, making it to the very end of the Gorge (which he was told hardly anyone makes it so far).

    While Gadi collapsed on the bed needing a quick nap, I turned on the Weber and barbecued dinner, sitting outside under a million star, inky black sky.

    Good night from Carnarvon Gorge xx
    En savoir plus