Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9–11

    Hanoi to Cat Ba Island

    December 30, 2023 in Vietnam ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    Having pulled together a last minute plan, late at night I booked a resort for 3 nights (inclusive of last night) instead of 2 - they assured me at 11pm that they’ll modify the booking when I get there. And a seat on the Cat Ba Express!!
    After repacking and the worst feed thus far - young host in charge of breakfast was more worried about being unable to unlock her phone.. after the offer of 3 microwaved (for too long) pieces of bread, 4 slices of cucumber and a fried egg, I asked for another egg and turned the stale bread into French toast. She had not unlocked her phone by the time I left!
    Should have eaten in the street.

    Another Grab, this time a car to take me to the bus pick up. I hadn’t had an email confirmation, so I wasn’t confident that it would go well and sure enough - no booking and the bus full, but the young woman was marvellous and got me another bus, leaving at the same time.

    Roads are mad busy, even the young guy that stood with me waiting for the bus said so.

    I grabbed a couple of Vietnamese donuts on the way.
    Delicious.

    The bus eventually came and was of course on the furtherest side of the road. He suggested - just go slow and we melted into the flow of traffic and crossed to the bus.

    This is what they must call a sleeper bus. Had to put my shoes in a plastic bag as I got on. The seats fully recline with a section for your feet that is under the seat in front. My seat back won’t stay up, so I’m propped up on my day pack. Which is not comfortable, but the bus is full, so …

    Eventually reclined and lulled to sleep by the drone of the engine under me. I did catch up to the other bus at the speed boat and transferred to a VIP bus for the rest of the way. Chatting to an American couple at the office and then sat with her on the bus. Gorgeous curly grey hair!!

    Dropped close to the hotel and check in simple, room flash, can’t wait for the shower and then off for a walk to explore the town. Kept walking until I found the local Cat Ba, it’s not far away. Wandered through the local market and then back to put my throbbing leg up. There was a schools presentation having the rehearsal on the water front.

    Up to the roof top bar on the 17th floor for a G&T until the cold and hunger sent me off to find dinner.

    I’d already spied the restaurant on my walk, and happened to be the recommendation from a young local guy on the bus. I was the only tourist there! Grilled oysters, steamed whole crab and a pile of garlic buttered prawns. No cutlery to be had!

    I finally got confirmation over dinner of the day trip I found, that isn’t with 100’s of others, so that’s a relief. Would have hated to get here and be able to do nothing. Still lots of tourists even though it’s the off season. Hate to be here in the peak season.

    Lots of development happening, and at the same time, closed restaurants and deserted hotels? Especially in the back streets.

    A wander to an ATM, an icecream from the Vinimart, a few numbers at the school presentation before the cold and throbbing appendage sent me homeward.

    Out all day tomorrow and have been told to pack my swimmers! Yea
    It’s 19’, but forecasted to be 24 and sunny 🌞 tomorrow. Fingers crossed
    Read more