Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Hue Day 2

    January 3 in Vietnam ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    I’d love to turn on the map for the adventure, but while I am now plugging in the phone every time I stop for a rest. I’m sure the battery would be flat before I got to where I needed to go, as Google maps is the most frequently used app atm, next to Grab.

    After my visit to the post office and selling a kidney to send home the warmer clothes that I have been carrying around, I went on to have Bahn mi breakfast at the cafe owned by my Airbnb host. Sun is out and it’s 26’.

    From there to find the Healing the Wounded Hearts Shop. Up and down, the street fending of touts and eventually asked at a travel agent. He went on t9 tell me all about them and how they didn’t make it through Covid. It was a NFP, that worked with disabilities and made items out of recycled materials to sell and the money went to children with heart conditions. 😕

    I had a “just say yes” moment and ended up on the back of a motor bike for a great tour to the tombs and pagoda before, the art gallery, lunch and the market.

    Turned out to be a great day and Hue is officially my favourite city so far. There are bins!! And I’ve seen people use them!!

    Walked home from the market, snacking on vege and fruit chips and in search of the giant kites I could see near the citadel, only to arrive as they were packing them up.

    Back to the Homestay, organised tomorrow with Tinh and then back out to wind through dark back alleys (got shooed away last night from one to great amusement of everyone…must have been going up someone’s driveway!) to the dumpling place she recommended. Another winner, and completely different to anything I’ve had so far.

    Packed up with room to breathe and ready for tomorrow’s adventure.
    It’s 8:36, 23’, aircon on as there are no windows in here … fabulous architecturally designed space with light wells, and one whole wall is glass, but no windows.
    Read more