Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    skydiving center - day 2

    October 2, 2016 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Today my first day of skydiving!

    TAF STAGE 1
    I had to put on an suit, goggles and alti. I was going with a tandem jump so like everyone else, but now I had to do also the routine of AFF STAGE 1. It went very well and we landed on our butt. I was a bit disappointed because I expected more from skydiving. But it was fun.

    After doing the TAF 1 I had to do the AFF 1. But it was so busy that I had to wait till 12:30.

    AFF STAGE 1
    I was briefed by the JM's and they took me through the dive and did a practice dirt dive (same as in the sky but om the ground). We went up in the plane and I jumped out of the plane. Got stabilized with 2 JM's attached to me. Checking my alti and looking around. @ 9000ft did an practice throw. Again check alti and looking around. @ 5500ft throw my first Parachute and it had line twists. So I had to turn to get rid of the twisted lines and grab the toggles (that's for steering the Parachute). Then look down to locate the dropzone. And find the arrow that the TA (target assistant) pointed. I had to follow exactly the way the arrow was pointing. After I was almost at the ground I had to follow the instructions of the TA for landing my Parachute. My landing was perfect. On 2 legs and only 2 passes walking. Jumping alone was so much more exiting than tandem jump! up to stage 2!

    AFF STAGE 2
    Also briefed by my JM's. This jump I had to do and practice throw immediately after I stabilized. After that moving forward with my arms behind me. Than boxing position (the more relaxed position in free fall). After that Turning left. A guy asked if he could jump with us, he had an camera and filmed my jump for free!. I'll share the link for YouTube as soon if I got it on YouTube. When I jumped I forgot to do a practice throw and we didn't have time for an turn. I should opend my Parachute @ 5000 ft but was a bit to late @ 4500ft. Also reasonable opening of the Parachute, had to do a practice flare (brake) and Parachute was perfect. Also on directions of TA and landing was perfect! Up to stage 3!

    I got briefed and everything, got on the plane but we couldn't get any higher than 8500ft (to many aircrafts in the sky). And for stage 3 we needed at least 9000ft. So had to land with the plane. Tomorrow next try for stage 3.

    The weather today was perfect, not to much wind and 26 degrees. Just lovely!

    Again sorry for letting you down on pictures guy's!. Movie is coming soon!

    Movie is below. Enjoy
    https://youtu.be/t4K0RtsAhBY
    Read more