Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Getting braver, went outside the wall

    May 23, 2022 in Greece ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    I had a great nights sleep last night. It is another beautiful day out today; I am having great luck with the weather.

    I head down to a place called The Bakery for breakfast. They have these dough bowls with different things in them. They have a bacon, egg and spinach bowl or sausage and egg or vegetable bowl. Check out the picture, kinda hard to explain. Anyway, it was delicious and I couldn’t finish it. I have an cold cappuccino as well but didn’t care for that. There is a very nice young man with an Irish accent (his father is Greek, his mother Irish) that I asked about getting a tour to Lindos. He told me to just head down to the harbour where I was last night and I’ll find plenty of offers.

    Afterwards, I set up my Google Maps to take me to Vodafone for a new sim card for my phone. It is located outside the Old Town in the ‘New’ city. It is only a 20 minute walk which takes me 30 minutes cause you know I can get lost in a phone booth. I made it and I got 15GB of data and 100 minutes of International Calling and Unlimited European calling for 39 Euros. It is good for the 30 days that I’m here. This is half what Virgin was going to charge me for 15 times the data and I get unlimited calling for Europe.

    After getting this I headed down to the harbour to book my tour for tomorrow. I found one there and it will take me to two beach stops and to Lindos. It is a full day trip. More about this tomorrow. On my way back I had to stop for some gelato. Yes there are pictures. They have like 20 different kinds, pretty hard to pick just 2. I thought this was a little expensive (6 Euros) but I’m sure that this is the tourist trap. Breakfast only cost me 7.50 Euros. On the way back ‘home’ I stopped at the grocery store to pick up some milk and yogurt so I can have breakfast at home tomorrow before the boat trip.

    Links: Air BnB https://abnb.me/x14zYiwOgqb
    Dafni Taverna https://www.facebook.com/pages/Taverna-Dafni/11…
    Read more