Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Boat Tour to Lindos

    May 24, 2022 in Greece ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    I booked a boat tour to Lindos with Triton Tours. I was up bright and early at 7 AM. I had a coffee and rice pudding for breakfast and then headed out. I stopped at the bakery to pick up a cinnamon and raisin danish for the boat. Water, sunscreen, camera and danish in tow off I go. It is another beautiful day, not a cloud the sky.

    The boat is a triple decker. I choose the middle deck, still open air but with plenty of shade. There are a couple of cruise ships in port for the day. We pass by and head out to sea. Once you get away from the town the scenery turns to a more rugged landscape. It is very hilly here with little vegetation. Stark but still beautiful. There are resorts along the coast with their beaches and umbrellas waiting for the tourists.

    Our first stop is Anthony Quinn Bay, where The Guns of Navarone was filmed. People head out for a swim. I stay on board and have my snack. I have two more swim stops.
    We have made it to Lindos Bay. Sitting high above the town is the Acropolis. You could almost see the bustling town of 2000 years ago. The bay is protected on three sides by land creating a very tranquil beach area. We get off the boat and I walk a path over to the quiet beach. I rent a beach chair for 15 Euros and get set up. The sand is very hot! I head over to the water. The water is cool but nice. I choose the slow but steady entry method to get used to the water. It is very shallow here and you can go quite a way till you get waist deep. Under I go...brrr that was a shock. Doesn't take long to get used though. The bottom is sandy and there are little minnows swimming around. The water really is the turquoise colour you see in the pictures and very salty (forgot about that, would be great with some fries!). There is a gentle breeze blowing making for a beautiful day.

    I stop at one of the restaurants on the way back to the boat for some lunch. Then head back to the boat for our return voyage. As we leave I get a couple of shots of the Acropolis and say goodbye for now. I am starting to get sleepy, probably from the fresh air and swimming. As I look around the boat several people are crashed on the seats catching some sleep. Half way back there is another swim stop. I don't go in but get some great shots.

    Back at the harbour we disembark right on time. I head back for a shower (remove the salt) and then head down for dinner. My last dinner in Rhodes. I'm back at Dafni and give the lamb a try. Lamb is a denser meat like moose. It is also darker then pork or duck. It has a stronger taste then pork and very different from beef. I'm not sure how to describe it for you. You'll just have to come to Greece and try it yourself! However, the mash potatoes are creamy and the plums and apricots add a nice contrast to the lamb. I didn't realize I was getting a whole leg but plenty of my four legged friends came to help me out. It is a wonderful evening and I say goodbye to my servers. They have made me feel as welcome as my BnB hosts.

    I head back and start to pack. Tomorrow is a travel day. I am taking a puddle jumper over to Crete but not until 9:00 PM. Once again my hosts here have come through for me by allowing me to keep my luggage here until 6:00 PM when I leave for the airport. I'm excited about Crete because Laura and Nicole join me for the next two islands!

    I'll talk to you from Crete. Bye for now.
    Read more